Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for November 14th, 2008

Multitasking!

I was talking to this friend of mine. And the topic of discussion was multi-tasking. She was saying that multi-tasking is something that comes naturally to her (and by extension to all girls). When I first thought about it, i was like…yaah…i am pretty bad at multi-tasking in any environment (home or office)….i usually like to stick to the task….its a different matter that I never even manage to complete even that one task, and move on to the next! J

 

But on further thought, I decided to give it a shot. I mean – we guys are not going to be left behind are we?? With this noble intention of furthering the exploits of ‘man’kind in mind, I sat down to write all the stuff that I could possibly multi-task with. I set certain ground rules for the multi-tasking drama (tech geeks would also know this as parallel processing)….the funda being that i need to return/pay attention to every task on the list once at least every 30 sec…

 

With these ground rules laid, I sat down to jot down the potential list of stuff that I could multi-task with..

1. Writing a blog post

2. Chatting

3. Surfing

4. Talking on the phone

5. Watching TV

6. Listening to a song

7. Eating food

8. Reading a book

 

This is what happened in the next 5 min….

 

Charlie Check 123, Charlie Check 123

Comp started – check

Broadband connected – check

TV put on – check

Mobile charged – check

Maggi noodles garma garam – check

 

Let the MT (Multi Tasking) begin…….

 

Typed the url” “www.wordpress.com” and logged in

 

Started the latest SRK-Sukhwinder song : “Haule Haule..” (Reader tip: Everytime you see the song mentioned here below, sing with the tune ‘Haule Haule’)

 

Channel selected: Star sports…and mute button on

 

Saw A(a friend who is a boy) online and pinged : “u there”

 

P(a friend who is a girl) pings: “hi”

 

Took my cell and dialled N’s number to fix up a plan for tomorrow; hear his caller tune “Main Aisa Kyon hoon!..’

 

Typed the url “www.rediff.com” and clicked on Dostana review!

 

 

 

Song Playing: “Haule Haule..”

 

 

 

I take a forkful of Hot noodles…

 

N picks up the phone, says in his deep baritone “Hullo”

 

Me tries to respond “Hey!”, but with garam noodles & Haule Haule for company, N hears it as “Gay!?”

 

N (sounding somewhat amused) “Gay???….I know Dostana is getting released…but WTF was that?”

 

P who pinged me 40 seconds back, is getting a bit anxious – “what are u doing?”

 

 

 

Song Playiing: “Haule Haule..”

 

 

 

Federer makes an amazing down the line return…I instinctively exclaim the F word

 

Unfortunately N hears it properly (hell whr were the noodles this time!!) and says (sounding in a little foul mood now): “Are you all right?”

 

I finish typing another sentence on my blog post & do the Alt tab to go to the Dostana review

 

Meanwhile, I realize N is waiting for my response & my mistake earlier, take another forkful of noodles and quickly respond “Just a sec yaar”

 

N (who hands I can feel coming out of the phone and reaching for my throat) :”Gay? F? S*x?….are u out of your mind?”

 

 

Song Playing: “Haule Haule..”

 

 

I realize i havent responded to P, generally quickly type – “Those earrings looked good on you” (always give a girl a compliment to buy some time!)..and press enter

 

I realize again…that by mistake I have sent the message to A!

 

Meanwhile its N (who is like 6 feet by 6 feet) on the phone again “#$#$% meet me tomorrow”, while I see through the corner of my eyes, three other developments

1. A, who has been silent all this while, is now typing ‘ferociously’ (gtalk can come up with something like this)

2. P is saying ‘Why arent you replying?”

3. Federer getting beaten up

 

I quickly respond to P “Just a sec” (that cant be misinterpreted here!), continue typing my blog post & munching my noodles (which are no longer garam)

 

 

Song just about Finishing: “Haule Haule..”

 

 

P types “ek second ho gaya! J

 

A types “#$%^&&##$%^&$$##@$%^&&” 

 

C (N’s girlfriend) SMSes me “#$%^^$@#$%^^##%”

 

Federer loses yet again…

 

The noodles are now too cold to be consumed…

 

And that moment I look at this book in front of me called “101 Ways to 102 Tasks – The Art of Multi-tasking”which I havent even opened…

 

 

Song Finishes: “Haaaule Haaaaule..”

 

 

So Ladies & Gentlemen……I have learnt my lesson!…i dunno about guys vs. girls…but I know my limitations!…so now only one task at a time…and that too “Haule Haule” J

Read Full Post »